Keema style shepherd’s pie

Happy New Year!

It’s been slightly longer than a month so I’m going back to a dish I tried a while ago and actually snapped images of because the last month or so there have been some interesting dishes leaving my kitchen, but I keep forgetting to take a pic.

On a Friday I usually try and create something I don’t have time to do during the week and this particular Friday I wanted to see if I could create a passable Keema style shepherd’s pie.

I love original shepherd’s pie, and I also love a curry served with Bombay potatoes on the side, so I imagined that this pie could have all of my favourite parts of a curry in one pie dish.

In this instance I made the keema by using the spice mix from Tom Kerridge’s Pork Samosa Pie but following normal shepherd’s pie creation.

I broke up the minced lamb and put it on a baking sheet in a high oven to brown and get rid of excess fat which is a Tom Kerridge tip.

I then improvised the mashed potato topping by heading down the Bombay potato path but mashing at the end. When I make Bombay potatoes I wing it somewhat but the general recipe I use is almost cooked potatoes, and onion. Then spices including black mustard seeds, turmeric, paprika, chilli powder, and a little garam masala at the end. I left out the onions because I wasn’t sure they would mash well but the rest was a I usually do it until the end when I mashed everything!

I placed the cooked spiced lamb in a baking dish and allowed it to cool just to make sure the mash wouldn’t sink, then placed the potato on top before popping it in the oven until brown and bubbling.

This experiment was most definitely worth a go because the end result was delicious; the only problem I found was what to serve it with. In the end I made up a quick curry sauce using my favourite curry powder (shock horror) and a little tandoori masala powder. I used ground rice to thicken, and chicken stock for liquid. I also whipped up spiced savoy cabbage to go alongside, but I’ll think about the sides more next time!

Keema style shepherd’s pie

Leave a comment