When lots of wrongs make it right

I started pondering this when my head exploded for the 354466978th time because someone on a cookery programme pronounced chorizo ‘choritso’.

Obviously, they are ALL pronouncing chorizo incorrectly. If they don’t want to pronounce it correctly (choreetho), they could pronounce it in English (chorISo), which I can handle. But no-oo, they have to pronounce it like pizza. ITALIAN! Where did the Italian come from?? It’s a Spanish sausage, and we’re talking about many of my fellow Brits pronouncing said Spanish Sausage, Italian is not suppose to be anywhere near this convo!

Anyway… the reason for this post… after my head exploded for the 369966978th (what? I know the number’s different, I am exaggerating here! And my head didn’t actually explode either) time my husband uttered a very simple but ultimately chilling sentence, which shook me to my very core.

He said… I don’t know if I can even say it… He said…

“You do know if enough people say it, it’ll become the norm, therefore right…”

Aaaargh!! I cannot bear the thought!

Ponder once more! All of those people saying ‘Europe’ instead of ‘The E.U’ or ‘The European Union’ will be right? And those of us saying ‘The E.U’ etc. may be roundly mocked, even sneered at should we slip?

Ponder again the Spanish person living in Blighty who thinks that ‘Choritzo’ is the correct British pronunciation, so uses that, the incorrect pronunciation because that’s all she hears. This ACTUALLY happened.

I just can’t take it!

And ponder further… Does this apply to the written word?

Will ‘Your welcome’ become right, and ‘You’re welcome’ be wrong?

Will ‘Their/there doing very well in the match’ become right, and ‘They’re doing very well in the match’ all of a sudden be wrong?

Will ‘The other team are playing very well to’ become right, and ‘The other team are playing very well too’ now be wrong?

Will people look at my tweets, see ‘you’re welcome’, and roll their eyes? Will they have just rolled their eyes at me writing ‘roll THEIR eyes’??

It’s just all too much! Or should I cave and write ‘it’s all to much’??

Nope. Not going to cave.

IT’S ALL TOO MUCH!!!

When lots of wrongs make it right

Leave a Reply

