My mad weekly kitchen diary

Just a weekly bit of fun whereby I can natter about any culinary ‘inventions’, successes and disasters in the kitchen, whilst trying to get the best out of leftovers.

This post is retrospective. I actually cooked these meals at the end of January, but never published due to personal reasons. I’m skipping the few weeks of the hiatus, as there was no good food to speak of. I think we even ate a Pot Noodle one night, so the next one will be last week’s diary.

Larger image below
Larger image below

Sunday

… We had a guest, but I also had one of my cravings… for fruit cocktail chicken. I do not do fruit and meat as a rule, but this is delicious. Just put a whole chicken in a roasting dish, add a tin of fruit cocktail in natural juice, four cloves of garlic and a chicken stock cube. Bung it in the oven and roast. When cooked, remove the chicken and break down any fruit with a potato masher before thickening to make a gravy. Trust me, it’s amazing! I served it with roasted new potatoes and veg. I forgot to take a pic because busy serving guest!

Monday

… We had leftover meats from the kebab so I threw together an all in one dish with rice, cajun spices, and tomato, along with red pepper and petit pois. My type of meal, not sure about husb!

Tuesday

… take away…

Wednesday

… I don’t know what I was thinking… I decided in my wisdom to make a coffee and walnut cake to use up walnuts, and ALSO make Cornish pasties to use up some swede. I could have just scoffed the walnuts, and made neeps and tatties with the Swede, but no, I made it really hard on myself! The Cornish pasties were a bit of a labour of love, but well worth it in the end. I used a Cornish Pasty Association recipe so it was authentic, and the finished result tasted like a proper Cornish pasty. I served the pasties with roasted root veg and instant gravy made from granules. What! It took me all day (with work in between) to make the pasties and the cake!

Thursday

… We had pasties left over because the recipe made 6, so we decided to have an English ‘junk’ meal. You know… everything with chips?! We had… pasty, baked beans, and oven chips. I wasn’t thrilled but husband enjoyed it. I’ve decided to serve up this type of meal occasionally as he likes it!

Friday

I experimented with the barley/lentil combo again. This time I made a ‘cottage pie’. After boiling the barley for an hour I did what you would do for a standard cottage pie, I sautéed onion and carrots, then added the red split lentils and cooked barley. I then added a spoonful of flour for thickening and to keep it veggie I used a veg stock cube, and a mix of marmite and soy sauce to get the beefy/meaty flavour without beef. I slugged water in and let the mix cook down for about 30 minutes until lentils were cooked, then decanted it into a baking dish to cool. Once cool I added a layer of mashed potato to the top and roughed it up a bit to create crispy bits when baked. At some point I shoved it in the oven to finish cooking, and it was delicious!

Saturday

… I made a potato and bacon soup because I needed to use up some potatoes. This really is comfort food of the highest order. Sautee bacon, add cubed potato, cover with water, add salt and pepper. Cook till the potatoes break down and add a little cream and loads more freshly ground black pepper.

Kebab meat pilaff, coffee walnut cake, cornish pasties, barley and lentil cottage pie.
Kebab meat pilaff, coffee walnut cake, cornish pasties, barley and lentil cottage pie.
My mad weekly kitchen diary

Leave a Reply

