My mad weekly kitchen diary

Just a weekly bit of fun whereby I can natter about any culinary ‘inventions’, successes and disasters in the kitchen, whilst trying to get the best out of leftovers.

Larger image below
Larger image below

Sunday

… see last week, rotisserie chicken! All of those dates over the festive season have made my day order a little discombobulated.

Monday

… another ‘experiment’! I had leftover pulled pork to use so I made a pig herds pie. Imagine a cottage pie but with pulled pork instead of ground beef. I made the mask with potatoes and carrots for extra veg, topping the pork with the mash and bunging it in the oven. I served it with petits pois and gravy. It was delicious, but uber meaty!

Tuesday

… I was craving Indian food, couldn’t be bothered to cook it, and didn’t want to break the bank with a full on Indian meal so we ordered ‘naan kebab’. I had spicy chicken, which is a delicious Indian gravy/sauce and tender chunks of chicken with peppers and onions, served in a naan. It really hit the spot!

Wednesday

… Look away now… another take-away! Well, it was take-away night and I was making up for not having one over the festive period! This time the men decided on fried chicken which is a rare treat indeed, and it was worth it! I wish we could get mashed potatoes like you can in the States though, some of us don’t want chips with everything. You know who you are, major fried chicken chain!

Thursday

… cannot for the life of me remember what we ate. Normally when I write down that I can’t remember it comes to me in a flash. *drums fingers* Ah, not a flash but… More leftovers, pig herds pie with leftover kapuska. It seems kapuska goes with ANYTHING! Except maybe coleslaw…

Friday

… one last bowl of xmas soup. It freezes really well, so I had done, and defrosted the soup today and reheated and served it with pici spiced crusty bread again. I look forward to next festive season for more xmas soup!

Saturday

… the last portion of pulled pork, and that was the end of using up festive food! I added a little mashed potato to the pork and made it into tandoori pulled pork patties with the addition of some tandoori masala powder. After shaping the patties I refrigerated until later, then just bunged them in the oven. They don’t look as glisten-y as fried patties, but the tasted great. Maybe a little salty, from adding the masala powder, but alongside curried basmati rice pilaf it worked really well. The basmati was in the freezer so I defrosted it and meanwhile sautéed onion and a yellow pepper, then added my favourite curry powder. After cooking that off I a little liquid to make a sauce, adding fresh tomato and some defrosted teeny peas just before the rice. I made sure the rice was piping hot before serving.

Pig herds pie & tandoori pulled pork patties
Pig herds pie & tandoori pulled pork patties

 

My mad weekly kitchen diary

Leave a Reply

