My mad weekly kitchen diary

This is just a weekly bit of fun whereby I can natter about any culinary ‘inventions’, successes and disasters in the kitchen, and also document trying to get the best out of leftovers.

Large pic below
Large pic below

Sunday

… we bought a chicken from a local shop as, although we are high up, the supermarket we use is on a road that was flooded. The local shop is handy, but it’s expensive and there’s not a lot of choice. Anyway… I used a peri peri rub and roasted the chicken, and it was served with fries and salad from the freezer and fridge respectively.

Monday

… By the time Monday came we couldn’t get to any supermarket in the city as all of the roads to them were closed due to flooding so I was scrabbling for food again. We had leftover peri peri chicken, which I picked apart, using the carcass for a stock and saving the meat for later. My idea was some sort of pilaf as I had peppers and onions in the fridge and petit pois in the freezer. I didn’t follow a recipe, I just used the absorption for the basmati rice after sautéing the onions and peppers. I used the stock from the bones as the liquid, and added a little peri peri salt for seasoning. Towards the end I added a small bowl full of defrosted petit pois and five minutes later my ‘make do’ pilaf was ready and delicious!

Tuesday

… another soup due to our non-shopping predicament. This time I made a ‘fridge soup’, so called because I ALWAYS seem to have the ingredients, mostly in the fridge. I don’t keep potatoes in the fridge but I don’t want to spoil a witty dish name with details.
So… the ingredients concerned are onions, carrots, potatoes, pearl barley, bacon and a chicken stock cube. The bacon was a tad sparse, just three rashers but you don’t need much. I started off by rendering the trimmed bacon fat in the pan to use instead of a little oil, I then fried the chopped bacon and secondly a chopped onion. Next I just added a couple of peeled and chopped baking potatoes, a couple of chopped carrots, and a good handful of pearl barley, finishing with stock made from the cube. I made sure the liquid covered the ingredients and then just let it cook. The barley and potatoes help to thicken the soup so the end result is very hearty.

Wednesday

… Wednesday guest was visiting and it was take-away night. C and I had food and WedJ had fish and chips with almost an entire bottle of ketchup. Luckily I have a good stock of ketchup!

Thursday

… the road to our favourite supermarket was open so my lovely husband bought me the ingredients for a chilli con carne which I was craving, really craving! It wasn’t a super duper chilli because I didn’t want to buy celery and peppers for the trinity and have to use them up in something else. I just browned mince and onion, added cumin, cayenne, paprika, oregano and cocoa, then beans, tomato, crushed garlic and a couple of chopped fresh chillies stock and seasoning. I let the chilli do its thing and added chopped fresh coriander at the end. I served my ideal comfort food with basmati rice.

Friday

… as we didn’t want to spend too long shopping midweek, when we bought the stuff for the chilli we bought a tiny chicken for the rotisserie. C did that and I roasted some potato wedges from baking potatoes and made a basic salad. The salad was brightened by drizzling it with the jar of home mixed vinaigrette that I keep in the fridge.

Saturday

… I had leftover chilli (yum!) and C had a frozen pizza from the supermarket. I had a LOVELY meal!

Peri peri chicken pilaf, fridge soup, chilli con carne, & rotisserie chicken
Peri peri chicken pilaf, fridge soup, chilli con carne, & rotisserie chicken
My mad weekly kitchen diary

Leave a Reply

