Eating real IS eating healthily

We are constantly bombarded with the message “eat healthily”. So, as per usual, I disagree with this message, I don’t think the message should be that. I think it should be this…

“EAT REAL FOOD”

We are told by some the only way to eat healthily is to eat organic, which is prohibitive for, if you’ll forgive the pun, a large portion of the population. Organic food is expensive. We need go no further than that for this post.

We are told by large corporations (who happen to mass produce processed food) with their glossy packaging and targeted ads to eat their quick, low fat food to eat healthily.
Well. *Rolls eyes* usually, ‘low fat’ means ‘high added sugar’. I know I’m not a food guru, but I believe sugar is naughtier than fat, and let’s face it, if I’m going to eat sugar I want it to be both delicious and glaringly obvious. I want the chocolate or sweet to yell “Yes! I am FULL of sugar! But I am delicious, and a treat!” I don’t want my sugar to be hidden.

If we try to eat REAL food we can work to a tight budget which helps a large portion (sorry!) of the population that can’t afford organic.

For example, at present, a low cost supermarket is selling a kilo of fresh onions for 39p whilst the equivalent weight in organic onions from a major supermarket would be £1.47, that’s over five times more expensive, and a huge difference for people on a budget. I always feel if I have an onion in my fridge I can make a meal, so onions are, in my opinion, the best starting point to real food and real cooking.

Now let’s look at both cost and real meals. I don’t know, I’m on the fly here. The same supermarket sells half a kilo of dried spaghetti (20p), you could add a 400g tin of chopped tomatoes (31p), or 500g of passata instead (35p), a new 12g jar of oregano (49p) which will provide many servings, tomato paste (also many servings and 37p). If we really are starting from scratch a litre of sunflower oil is 99p. I’m on a budget here so I’ve not used the olive oil at £2.59, but if you wanted to push the boat out you could. Finally THREE bulbs of fresh garlic cost 79p.

Armed with all of this information I reckon you could feed a very large family a real meal of spaghetti with homemade tomato sauce for around £2, and I feel that is erring on the side of caution. £2 would probably get you a microwave meal for one, and lots of processing and packaging.

If we try to eat real food we avoid those processed and potentially low fat but high added sugar meals. If we try to eat real food the healthy eating seems to take care of itself.

Eating real IS eating healthily

Leave a Reply

