I wish I had a ‘Room 101′ (Part 2)

I knew I would return to this topic, confirmed in my ‘previous visit’ to ‘room 101’. I imagine in a few years I’ll be on ‘part 156’!

So… My latest inductees to the Room 101 hall of infamy are;

The Pacific

We’d have to have a large Room 101 for the one you’re probably thinking of!I don’t know if this is just a Brit thing, or even a northern thing, but, let me be specific…

There is no context on this planet where the word ‘pacific’ replaces ‘specific’.

Honestly.

It also follows that I cannot ‘pacifically’ talk about this problem, but I can talk about it specifically.

Honestly!

The Pacific is and always will be an ocean, a beautiful one, so I don’t want to shove it into Room 101, but maybe the people who use it instead of specific could jump in…

 
The X

No, not a previous romantic attachment. The X. A rogue X.
The X that makes my nose itch when heard.
The X in question is the ‘X’ in ‘espresso’.
“What?!” I hear you say?
“But there’s no X in espresso…”

I knowwwwww.

It’s eSpresso, not eXpresso!!

I’ve heard ‘expresso’ on adverts selling coffee machines that make espresso. So you would think they would know. But no! Please get the actor to say espresso. Not. EXPRESSO!!!! Or, sell a flavoured water machine.

I’ve heard ‘eXpresso’ uttered on fictional programmes. Programme makers, either get your scripts proof read or make sure the actors can say espresso! Failing that, change the script to a flat white?!

Entering espresso into room 101 would be preferable to the rogue X, I’m sure!

 

Chorizo

Now, I love chorizo. I use it often, it is delicious, but I would rather have it consigned to Room 101 than continue to have this regular assault on my ear drums.

Everyone it seems uses chorizo, and talks about it, for the most part incorrectly. This must stop! Just today a British Chef on TV committed the sin of mispronunciation.

Aaaaaaarrggghhh!!!

People of the UK, it’s NOT pronounced chor-IT-so. It’s pronounced chor-ee-tho.

Chorizo gate has even been debated on a programme called ‘Sunday Brunch’, where the lovely and talented chef Simon Rimmer says chor-ee-tho (thanks Simon), whilst co host Tim Lovejoy says chor-it-so (‘thanks’ Tim!). Tim stated words to the effect of “I’m English. I don’t say it the Spanish way.” Yet he says ‘tort-ee-ya’, not ‘tort-ill-a’, so his argument doesn’t stand up too well anyway (Sorry Tim)!

I would say to Tim that chorizo is a SPANISH sausage, not Italian. The word does not have two zeds, and again, not Italian, so surely is not pronounced like piZZa.

And if it must be pronounced the non Spanish way, then surely it is Chor-is-o? As it is written. If you want to pronounce it incorrectly at least pronounce it wrong right!

So please enter chorizo in to Room 101, or at least make it a law that you’re not allowed to buy, eat, or talk about chorizo if you can’t pronounce it…

 
Tweets

Wait! Not all tweets! Just those that have incorrect use of to/too, your/you’re, and were/where, and while we’re at it we can chuck in to Room 101 those tweeters that retweet the tweets in which the eye crossing errors are located.

Every day my eyeballs are assaulted, and I don’t look at Twitter much, so I’m loathe to visit more often for fear of my eyeballs exploding!

Yes, I know it’s silly, and I may have rethought joining Twitter if I had realised how painful it would be to see these errors written down, but it is aggravating!

Maybe though, I should throw myself into Room 101 for not having the courage (or brazen pedantry) to ‘correct’ the tweeter…

 
Royal Fail Mail

See last but one post…

(Sorry to ruin the ‘wordy’ theme!)

I wish I had a ‘Room 101′ (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

